top of page

Christmas Tea Towels | Free SVG & PNG Cut Files

Updated: Oct 19, 2019


This time of year my crafty side comes out in full force. I just see so many cute Christmas things and my mind runs wild wanting to create fun things for my home. I have been looking for a bright red tea towel that I could add HTV to for a while now and I finally found the perfect ones! They are the perfect color and such good quality. I also found some white Glitter HTV that really makes them pop!


Disclaimer: The links in this blog are things that I have purchased with my own money and recommend to you. *****As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases*****


Here's what you need to make these Holiday Tea Towels!

Red Kitchen Towels - I got the ones I used HERE and I'm very pleased with them. They also have tons of other colors I can't wait to try. The green and black ones would make great Christmas towels as well!

White Glitter Vinyl - I use THIS ONE typically for all my white glitter projects, However I also just found THIS ONE that is really great too. They are both a bit different. The first one has a bit of silver in the glitter mix and the second one is plain white glitter. Both are beautiful!

FREE CUT FILES - I created THESE cut files just for this project. I love how they pop on the red tea towel!


Step One - Iron your towels flat and refold them so that they are 7.5 inches wide.


Step Two - Cut out your vinyl. I choose to cut the designs out at 5.5 inches wide. I adjusted the height so that they all looked about the same size.

Set your machine to the Custom Cutting setting.

Then select the Glitter Vinyl Custom Setting.

Since this is a Glitter HTV you will want to make sure that the mirror setting is on so that they cut out in reverse. This way when you flip them over and iron them on the words will read correctly.

Step Three - Once your designs are cut out you will want to weed out the negative. I still have yet to get around to buying a weeding tool. I've been using my sewing pick for years now and it works so good I just haven't had the need to buy the actual tool made for the job.

Step Four - The final step is to iron the designs onto the towel. Set your iron to the cotton/linen setting and turn the steam off. (I'm using a heat press since I have one but it's not necessary. If you do have access to one I have mine set at 305 degrees) Make sure to cover your design with a teflon sheet. (I love THESE) Or, you can use a thin piece of fabric. For this vinyl I like to iron 15 seconds on the front of the towel, then 15 seconds on the back of the towel. Then I will peel off the plastic sheet and iron on the front of the towel again. (Use the teflon or fabric over the design/plastic or it will stick to your iron)


***HINT: I ironed over the tag when ironing on the back side and it melted! It didn't stick or make a mess and it peeled off really easily but I would recommend avoiding the tags because they will melt.



And there you have it!!! 3 beautiful Christmas Towels. They will make a colorful statement in your house this season, or you can gift them away! Check out the video below to see how I made these towels.

Disclaimer: The links in this blog are things that I have purchased with my own money and recommend to you. *****As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases*****


1,420 views

Comments


bottom of page