top of page

Baby Swaddle DIY | Lettuce Hem Tutorial

Updated: Oct 19, 2019


I have been seeing these cute stretchy swaddles everywhere these days. I found this really cute cactus print knit fabric at Hobby Lobby and I just had to make it into a swaddle for my little girl who is due in a few weeks. However, I don't have a serger and I wasn't quite sure how to finished the fabric with my sewing machine. I've made swaddles before and the last ones I made I folded the edges of the fabric several times and then sewed it secure. This was kind of a pain and kept getting stuck in my machine. Plus I didn't really care for the finished product very much.


Basically, I've been looking for a simple, quick, and stunning way to finish knit fabric without a serger and I found one!!! It is called the lettuce hem. Check out how beautiful it turned out!






Check out the VIDEO TUTORIAL below to see the full process!!!


1,862 views
bottom of page